Resource: A-
From 153 reviews
Game: ?
From 0 reviews

The Icewind Dale Trilogy


Publisher Description

This set of the first three novels published by fantasy writer, R. A. Salvatore, are new, unread, unworn, unopened, unmarked, softcovers, later printings of first paperback editions, and they come in a nice like-new slipcase. These titles introduced the author's signature character, Drizzt Do'Urden, upon whom his many New York Times bestselling titles are based.

Another Dungeons and Dragons Inspired Best-Seller [ edit ]

Written by New York Times Best-Selling author R.A. Salvatore, The Icewind Dale trilogy of books was first published in 1988.  Since then it's spawned an entire franchise of books, been reprinted (multiple times) into collector editions, and in the process it re-defined an archetypal Dungeons and Dragons monster, the dark elf.

Salvatore's story of a dark elf named Drizzt Do'Urden, who rejects his people's ways but nevertheless is judged for them wherever he travels, stuck a nerve with many fans, resulting in a swell of popularity.  The central character, Drizzt, has appeared not only in more than twenty sequels, but also Dungeons and Dragons products, miniatures, and even video games.

The First Icewind Dale Collection [ edit ]

The Icewind Dale Trilogy was originally written as three separate books, but at this point the easiest way to read it is through one of two collector's editions that combine all three books together.  The first of these was simply known as The Icewind Dale Trilogy.

The Second Icewind Dale Collection [ edit ]

Later on the same books were instead re-printed in a "collector's edition", with different art from the previous one.  Both books contain the same three novels however, so either one makes a great gift.